Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,

a quick question for all you martin lovers out there, i have been reading alot of old posts on martins and they seem a great sax for there price. my teacher plays a old indiana alto and she can get that thing screaming.

my question is that i have been playing alto for about 4 years now and want to start tenor, i was looking for a martin and have been searching around on ebay found one at
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=170155075311&Category=16234&_trksid=p3907.m29.

does this serial number make it a the martin tenor saxophone, it seams like a good price but think it will jump a fair bit. what price should i be expecting to pay.

does any one have any reasonable martin tenors for sale.

any advice would be much appreciated :cool:

·
SOTW Interviews/Editor, Distinguished SOTW Member,
1,187 Posts
Check out these sites for information.
http://www.saxpics.com/martin/committee.htm

http://www.themartinstory.net/

and also Bob Ackerman's site as to why he likes The Martins.
http://www.bobackermansaxophones.com/articles.html

It's my understanding that Bob Ackerman prefers "The Martin Tenor" in the 195xxx-220xxx serial range, but there certainly is a variety of opinions. Others suggest 150xxx-220xxx. Pete Thomas, for example, has a 1951 tenor which should put it in the 175xxx-178xxx range.
http://www.petethomas.co.uk/sx-05-martin-tenor.html

As for value, check out www.worldwidesax.com and www.junkdude.com who currently have The Martins in stock.

On Ebay, although prices can always vary, "The Martin" tenors in good condition, with original lacquer, have been averaging, generally speaking, between $1100.00 to $1700.00 with exceptions above and below.