1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Day 1
Starting out

Who am I:
Hello everyone! I am a 21 years old student, passionate about music. I have been playing piano since childhood and adore Chopin. I love jazz, blues and all the other genres, but not Rock that much. I love vocals and all the great woman vocalists: Sarah Vaughan, Ella Fitzgerald, Nina Simone, Billie Holliday, Whitney Houston and many more.

1 year ago I decided to buy a saxophone since I liked it that much. I bought one from amazon, that was the cheapest Alto Sax available there. However, it will serve well for basics (I hope).

Since than, I have been playing on my own, but never had an approached routine to practice. I only played once in a while, and you can guess, with no results at all.

I have decided now to get serious about it, and improve.

Goal

I think, I made a decision to play saxophone, to be able to sing through it, like the ones that inspire me sing with their voice.
So my ultimate goal is: To sing through saxophone.

How to get there:
First of all I need motivation (which I already have).
That I need structure, simple goals for every day (learn this scale today, that one tomorrow, etc.).
I have been browsing this forum for a while now, you guys are very helpful and I have learned a lot from you, I am thankful for that, and I count on you along my journey.

What I know
I know several tunes (autumn leaves, misty, etc.), which I do not play on the desired level.

Issues to address currently
My number one problem is intonation. I am very sharp in the upper register. My tone is not consistent. My technique is basic, unevenness of fingers, no knowledge of theory.

Tasks for today
I will now try with tuner to play different notes and try not to change my embouchure, will try not to bite and to maintain it relaxed. I will try not to be sharp in the upper register, I will try to have open throat.
I will learn my first scale: C major scale and play it at 80.