Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone
ive been playing alto for about 7 years, im a jazz player.
recently though im deciding to switch to tenor,
I know this will be a difficult change for me since as a gigging musician i will need to transpose my entire repertoire of melodies and changes to Bb, but i believe its for the best considering all my favorite musicians that i try to emulate are tenor players.
I play on a 1950 conn 6m and would like a tenor with similar response.
as far as sound goes think coltrane, bergonzi. Adarker sound with projection,
mouthpiece and other setup suggestion would be greatly appreciated as well.
thanks in advance

david

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
Not that I'm a fan, but is there something wrong with a 10M from your perspective?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
of course not!
I loved the sound Bergonzi got with them, but they are a little over my budget for a decent one.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015
2,461 Posts
David,

best bet would be to connect with a seller who has a variety of vintage tenors and mouthpieces...... spend a few hours playing them switching mouthpieces and reeds and playing them.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I dont know anyone in my area who specializes in vintage horns and has a large selection, or else that would have been my first option without forethought,

does anyone have experience with martin indianas??

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2011
13,021 Posts
If a 10M is a little over your budget, what is your budget?

A vintage horn, unless you know for sure it's in great playable condition, will probably need some work so you need to budget for that.