Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
8,336 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really like the sounds and effects players like Ian Underwood and Bunk Gardner used to get with the Mothers of Invention. I'm thinking of early MOI albums, Chungas Revenge and the Gumbo Variations etc, What would I need to get to recreate these effects in a live situation. I'm a total novice with electronics though years ago I used a stick on pickup on the reed of my alto and a " Tootle Bug" made by Ashton Tootle in London on my flute that was great and I still have.
I know these players used drilled pick ups and Maestro woodwind units. What's the modern equivalent? I'm not interested in a natural amplified sound.
thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,878 Posts

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Sure you can. The thing is after the mixer your signal has line level so you can feed the signal thru any effect you like, like a guitar player with all the pedalboards. Just recently a went to a fantastic Nils Landgren & the funk unit concert here in munich. He had a superb sax player from sweden, Magnus Lindgren. He was playing with a wireless unit and feeding the signal from the receiver thru a bunch of stompboxes, octaver, auto-wah, echoplex...Some pretty nice and nasty sounds came from the sax.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Doc
For those of us who arent electronic gear heads, have you got a couple of recommendations for a reliable mixer?
Thanks
Al

·
Registered
51 Posts
mixer, etc