Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys!
I'm a newb and this is my first post so if I'm not in the right place forgive me. I am also a beginner player ( Havnt really played since I was a kid, 20 years ago.) So, I have a sax left to me by an uncle. I checked the usual places trying to figure out who the maker is and the closest I have seen was the King. On the bell is Carl Fischer Inc. New York Inc.. It is hard to read from the pictures. The serial number is 95xxx. Now for my many questions, and I appreciate anyone who can answer any of them.

Who in your opinion is the maker of this Sax?
Is it for sure a soprano? It's about 90% the size of a modern soprano that I compared it with at a music store.
If so, is it the standard Bflat?
What is your overall opinion of the condition? ( by the way, it plays, and for a tiny sax it blows loud with an amazing growl. I'm impressed by the sound volume and quality, even with ragged pads. )
What year do you think it was made?
Value? (assume I overhaul it down the road (should I?)).
Does it take the same pads as any other standard soprano?
I've noticed some nice comments about the King soprano. What about them is more appealing than the others? Is it the sound, playability, etc?

Any other comments or suggestions are welcome. Pics are below if I did it correct.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

Thanks again guys!!!

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
I believe it's a Buescher. I'll let others comment on value. Haven't been watching old curvies.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,127 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

Who in your opinion is the maker of this Sax?
Without any doubt, that is a King (your thoughts were 100% correct). King was the only manufacturer to use those type of key cups. Not to mention the spatula key cluster...the bow brace...the bands attaching the neck/body/bow/bell.