Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a vintage 1957 Conn 10M, serial # 707283 at a garage sale yesterday. The body and neck are in great condition with only a few very small dents on the bell. Engraving is sharp. Key mechanisms work fine. However, the majority of the pads are shot. I paid $200.00 US for the horn which came in the original case and included a mouthpiece and ligature.

I spoke to my sax repair guy and he quoted my $450.00 US to replace all pads, clean up the horn, and make all necessary adjustments. I already have a Jupiter JTS 689-687 Tenor which I paid next to nothing for. I had my sax repair guy fix all the leaks in the Jupiter, so it plays fine now.

I have been playing for less than two years, but I am having the time of my life!!!

So I have a few questions:

Did I pay too much for the Conn 10M? Is it worth investing $450.00 to replace all pads and clean it up? What will the 10M be worth after the pads are replaced (more or less)?

How does the Conn 10M compare to the Jupiter JTS 689-687?

Thanks for taking time to read and reply!!!
Paul K.

·
Registered
886 Posts
If you wind up with a functional, good looking 10M after only $650, I'd say did well. If yours has nickel keys, overslung neck, and naked lady engraving, you're a couple hundred under what they have been going for in the used market.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
3,408 Posts
Nice one! good vintage too--wish you could find them at such a low price over here. The Jupiters are good functional horns--but a 10m--well its like comparing an E-Type Jaguar to a Toyota ---dont start on me guys!! just sayin'-------------

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
743 Posts