Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a Buescher "Big B" bari from the late 40-early 50's era. It has been completely overhauled and has been set up with pretty high key heights. I have only been playing bari for about 12 months, but have been playing tenor and alto for over 20 years. When I started working on my bari chops with this Buescher, I had a lot of problems with mouthpieces. A vintage Berg and a Florida Link were both very bright and chirpy in the low register when I played with any kind volume. By chirpy, I guess I mean that the sound had an edgy, undesirable bark at the attack of the note. I knew it wasn't the pieces because the Link sounded killer on a Yamaha 52 that I used before I got the Big B. The Buescher only started to sound good when I started playing a Morgan "vintage". The problem with the Morgan is that it pretty much hangs on the end of the neck before it is in tune! I recently read a description of the same bari for sale by maddenma which brought up the same quirks that I am having with my horn! So I am wondering why are these horns "mouthpiece picky" and what are some solutions to eliminating this tuning problem? Should I lower the action? Thanks for any advice!

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
So, a few answers, perhaps generating more questions.

The Big B baris are mouthpiece sensitive, as are MOST 1950's and earlier baris -- but that affects the intonation, not the attack problem you're describing. Chirping, as near as I can tell, is a function of the rails and table of the mouthpiece, or it could be the reed. I have not once in 40 years found a horn that caused an otherwise working mouthpiece/reed combination to "chirp" on attack unless there were issues with the horn sealing somewhere.