Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
how are people performing vibrato on the clarinet? i feel comfortable doing it with the air stream but havent been able to get my speed up. i don't play sax and haven't learned to do it with the lip/jaw. how are others doing it? Thanks
Jess
p.s. not here to incite a style argument :bluewink:

·
Registered
480 Posts
Classical clarinetists do not use vibrato. Now, if you're using it in jazz, I personally use jaw vibrato, and have no problem with it, however, I'm also completely self taught on clarinet.

·
Premium Member
3,302 Posts
Richard Stoltzman certainly uses it in his recording of the Brahms Sonatas. It sounds to me that he uses airstream vibrato in his classical playing (sparingly), and jaw vibrato (as appropriate) in his jazz playing.

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
Stotz is the perhaps the only one I can think of other that uses Vibrato in classical. Generally, you don't do it. And if you do do it, then it's the same as saxophone.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,208 Posts
Richard Stoltzman certainly uses it in his recording of the Brahms Sonatas. It sounds to me that he uses airstream vibrato in his classical playing (sparingly), and jaw vibrato (as appropriate) in his jazz playing.
...and I wish he hadn't.:) Harold Wright also uses a very subtle vibrato in his recordings with Peter Serkin, but his interpretation is much more to my liking.

·
Registered
802 Posts
Classical Clarinetist rarely use vibrato or never.
It's rather unorthodox to clarinet playing as your embouchure cannot move at all for classical clarinet, if you do use vibrato while playing, you'll end up making the tone less focused, and might lead to embouchure air leaks.
I hear of clarinetists using diaphragm vibrato if they use vibrato though.
But it depends on what style you play, but then again, you could do whatever.

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2016
1,706 Posts
One of the most distinctive clarinet vibratos in jazz