Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been playing tenor saxophone for 4 years now. After playing on a standard hard rubber mouthpiece for 2 years I switched to an otto link "super tone master" 8*. I've been playing on this piece for quite a while now but I am beginning to wonder if it is just too open faced for me. I like the way it sounds on everything below high A above the staff. I play on Rico Royal 2.5 reeds. I've tried long tones and examined my embouchure but I just can't get my higher notes to sound clearly. If anyone has any suggestions or comments it would be greatly appreciated!:)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
2,892 Posts
The move from a stock hard rubber mouthpiece, with the average tip opening under .070 inches, to a metal Link 8*, with a tip opening of .115 is way too big a jump. Drop back down to a 6* or so and I bet you'd be amazed at how much easier it would be for you. It takes years to develop a solid embouchure and breath control on the sax; don't make it so hard on yourself by using a mouthpiece that's too open for you.
Do you have a teacher? I can't imagine a that teacher would suggest moving to a Link 8* after two years of playing....I know I wouldn't.......bear in mind that I have nothing against Links or 8*'s. I use pieces in the 8* to 9 range, but I've been playing for a long time.
If you don't have teacher you should consider getting one..........daryl

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your input. I do have a teacher, he seemed very surprised when I first told him I played on an 8* but said that I sounded good on it. I sort of agree because I like my sound (most of the time) but like I said I am troubled by high notes. I think I will test play some mouthpieces around that facing. Thanks again!:)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2010
3,333 Posts