Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I believe this is my second post here so please bear with me if I say anything ignorant. and be kind as I respect everyone's opinion here but I know that some forums, (not this one however) can be quite nasty to such newbies. Anyways I digress.
so, I have purchased a few cheap Amazon metal mouthpieces for $30-$40 obviously from China. The soprano piece, plays absolutely great as it is. However the tenor oneNeeded some work. I'm pretty handy as I used to polish aluminum for a living so I have plenty of tools and was an automotive mechanic after that. Anyways I started with flattening the table which helped allow the reed to Then seal properly. It played better but being the DIY type I then decided to smooth out the baffle as it was left very rough with machine marks everywhere. Again it played better. But nothing to write home about. My question is, simply what are your thoughts on buying such pieces and then sending them off to a professional refacer Who can work much more magic than I myself? Is this something that refacing professionals do often? Do you guys recommend this as a low-cost way of getting a very well sounding piece? Just curious to say the least. What are All your thoughts whether you're a mouthpiece refacer yourself or just An avid saxophonist?
I really am looking for a high Baffle screamer Like a Berg Larson, Guardala, or maybe even a Dukoff
for my tenor but don't fancy paying $200-$300 Especially when some work might need to be done there after. All opinions are appreciated so long as they're polite and on topic.

thank you all Sincerely ,
Sean

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,999 Posts
The high baffle screamers aren’t my thing, but quite a few members have said good things about the Eastern Music Guardala copy. There’s an eBay store. $300 could get you two and some reeds.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts