Sax on the Web Forum banner

Using a Tenor reed on an Alto mpc

38K views 43 replies 39 participants last post by  sopsax 
#1 ·
I've been playing Alto for 2 years and have never played Tenor.
I normally use an ALTO Rico Royal 3 1/2 strength reed.

For no particular reason I put a TENOR 3 1/2 Rico Royal reed on the Alto Yamaha mpc and found it easier to blow. I'm not sure if it due to the slightly larger footprint of the tenor reed but I could control it better, for example, vibrato was easier.

Have I just been lucky with a couple of good tenor reeds ?
Any feedback on using a Tenor reed on an Alto mpc would be appreciated ?

#4 ·
My instructor, who has played for many big bands and was a high school band teacher, recommended I try a tenor reed on my alto. I tried it and didn't find it a compelling setup. Maybe if I had tried longer I would have found it interesting. I can't remember now why he wanted me to try it but I am an intonation freak so maybe that is what it is about. Maybe one of the pros could weigh in on this.

#8 ·
sam, I have used a tenor reed on alto and a baritone reed on tenor for years with pop music. I first heard about the bari reed on tenor in the late 50s when I met a "blues" tenor player who used a lot of gliss's and lip bends. He told me that it also allowed for a fuller subtone. He liked the flexibility.

As knighttrain indicates;

If you suffer, it will likely be in the higher octave ranges.
If you want to play a lot of altissimo notes, I am not sure that I would use this setup because the heart of the reed will not support it as well. You can use a harder reed for the upper range but that can defeat the purpose to a degree. Also, I would not suggest this setup for classical music or concert band performance but others may disagree. Just a matter of choice.