Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I've been playing with my super awesome Martin Committee I alto sax I got from Bruce Bailey (thanks Bruce!) and I love it. I've also been trying various mouthpieces like Yamaha 4C, Morgan 3C, Vandoren v16S 8C and Selmer Super Session E. Out of those I like the Morgan and Selmer the most but with the Selmer it's hard for me to play long, low notes. Probably because it requires a stronger emboushure and more expierience (and I'm still very new to the saxophone). The Morgan seems easier to play and sounds very nice, even and full. The surprising thing is that it sounds the best when I use it with a bass clarinet reed (Vandoren Traditional #3). I tried it with that reed because it was the hardes reed I had and I like it much better than oter reeds I used with this mouth piece. Those other reeds were Vandoren V16 #2.5 and Vandoren ZZ #2.
What I'm wondering is this: Is there anything wrong with using the bass clarinet reed for the Alto sax? Why could it be that it sounds better? Would an alto sax reed with the same model/strenght likely sound / feel even better?

I know it's hard to comment without hearing the combination but I was hoping you could give me a few opinions before I go out and spend more money on reeds.

Thanks!

Rafal

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
A bass clarinet reed is almost the same size as a tenor sax reed. It's not recommended for use on an alto mouthpiece. A good
choice for the Morgan would be a Vandoren V12 #3 or Vandoren blue box #3 or 2-1/2 or Hemke 3 or 3-1/2.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,033 Posts
I wouldn't use the BC reed. I think the Selmer problem is that it is too open. Compared to the 4C it is about .011" more open. I have been playing over 50 years and even my SS D is about as open as I can handle. For that horn I sold you, my favorite mouthpiece would be a Selmer S-80 D or possibly a meyer 5M.

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru