Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first post so I hope I am posting in the right spot!
Anyways,
I am looking to upgrade to a pro level horn here soon and I just wanted to know about what models are really a good bang for your buck. I'm already aware of selmers and yamaha's. I have tried pro level horns on both sides of the spectrum, I don't like how selmer's feel. I love how yamahas feel though. I was actually going to buy a 62 II a couple months ago but my plan fell through because of some financial problems. I have a max budget of $3000. I am looking to go used. I just wanted some other opinions on good pro level horns, I am majoring in music in college and need a flexible horn for both jazz and classical. Right now my top two horns are the yamaha 62 or 62 II or the yamaha ex875. If you can think of any other models that are competitive for the price let me know!
Thanks
John

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
4,317 Posts
You can get a GOOD horn in that range. I would suggest playing several brands, Yani, Yamaha, Selmers, Keilwerths, and see what you prefer, then buy a good USED horn.

·
Distinguished SOTW Columnist/Official SOTW Guru
3,764 Posts
I'll assume you're paying an arm and a leg for your college education?

Why not get some return on that and ask your professor, tutors and professional colleagues?

You'll get a hundred different responses here and they'll cover every make and model from Selmer to Sum Young Guy. And it's all gonna amount to try em all and see which one floats your boat.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2011
13,083 Posts