Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone recommend an imaginative and effective sax tech?

I need to have the octave keys on an alto and tenor (Mark VI's) modified so it sits above and to the LEFT of the thumb rest. I lost the last joint of my left thumb a while ago, and I'm trying to get back to using my horns, but the decreased distance between my fingers and the end of the thumb is now so short it's hard to hit the 8va key without also nudging the hi D and making awful noises.

If anyone out there has any ideas on how to overcome this, I'd appreciate all constructive comments.

Thanks.

·
Administrator
13,993 Posts
I'm not a professional tech, and there are many on this board who are and will likely chime in. however, given your description, I would think some sort of prostheses boot (or docking station.;)) attached to the thumb rest or just left of it, that you could fit your remaining thumb into and would extend and allow you to secure the upper leverage and weight of the body, would be in order.

It would need to have a firm but padded foot inside that your thumb would rest on, rather like the toe of a ballet dancer's shoe to extend the thumb's length, but the outer area of the boot would need a "cuff" (with an ergonomic cutout for the palm area) with enough freedom and room to allow you to move your hand to activate the palm keys easily etc.,

I would think one could be molded to custom fit, from a high density plastic like those used on prosthetic devices, and screwed into place on the thumb button itself with some sort of adjustable coupler.

The whole affair could be hinged in a manner that facilitated lifting the boot upward to activate a modified octave key mechanism not unlike what a normal thumb does, but assisted by a bit of modification that allows for the boot.

·
Registered
597 Posts