Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, Polly here, (didn't really think of myself as a late bloomer but guess i qualify! In my 30s and play sax for fun) I have been playing alto on and off for 7 years, really enjoy it BUT... only recently had my first lesson (oops!), and have discovered my bad habits, eg: lifting & replacing thumb on octave key, tension in neck & wrists, and horror of horrors, I play all my b flats with what i think is called 1 & 1 aka 'flute' fingering.
If anyone has advice or experience of unlearning these habits, would love to hear from you. The bis key feels so alien and can't seem to maintain it when i go for the octave key. I think my best chance at the moment is to learn to use the side B flat but this will take some serious unlearning too. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
400 Posts
I would go with the side-Bb, that is what my teacher had me learn first. For the tension, focus on not raising your shoulders, keep them down, as soon as you feel them start to rise, take a break. Your teacher is in a better position to advise you on the octave key, but I roll my thumb onto the key.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III & Naked Lady
29,854 Posts
I wouldn't worry to much about the bis key yet. You should try (for a while) playing everything with the side Bb, even fingerings that would normally be better with the fork Bb. This is not to get toy into another bad habit, but to make your brain be aware of what you are doing. It will slow you down at first but don't worry. Do it until you feel comfortable with being ablt to choose between the two, then work out which passages are much easier with the side Bb (e.g. D F A Bb A D F repeated and work on those for a while.

Once you have this under your belt you can then try the same with Bb bis. Just use it exclusively (I once knew a player who did this anyway).