Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hellooo everybody,

I've been a member of this forum for a while, but I stopped coming here because I realized that it was less productive to try and understand the answer to "Why don't I sound good?" or "Why can't I play fast?" on a forum instead of realizing those questions by actually practicing.

Well, I've been learning the ways of the saxophone (I dare not say "I've been playing", yet) for a little more than four years, now. I "know" three songs in their entirety, because before when I would practice, I didn't set any goals other than "Just get better". I'm still working to play the songs as best I can in time, but I'm happy with practicing them all; that's not why I'm posting this.

I'm from California, but I'm a freshman at the University of New Orleans, the school that I've wanted to go to since I delved into Jazz sometime during my sophomore year in high school. I'm going here to gain the wisdom to be the Greatest Musician Ever, and to study with Ed Petersen, my favorite tenor saxophonist.

Here's the catch: I was too nervous to audition for the Jazz Studies program because I didn't know any song in its entirety at the time, nor was I comfortable enough to improvise (If improvisation is just like talking, then right now I'm a babbling buffoon.) I've met with Ed at least three times now (ever), even though the third week of school is coming up, and I pass his office everyday (I know it's creepy, but sometimes I sneak a peek, just to make sure that he's still here, then I scurry away.) He thinks my name is Ryan--which it's not--and I'd like to think he's kidding--but he isn't.