Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2013-2016
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a determined novice, and progress has been very slow. I am now getting fairly consistent results in the first octave (even the low notes), but am encountering two problems I have not seen discussed. One is a sudden rapidly repeated interruption of the sound, especially (but not exclusively) on fourth line D and third space C, which makes it sound like the flute is being bumped by a slowly turning ceiling fan blade and knocked momentarily away from my lips: ta ta ta ta ta ta ta.....(Rest assured, I am not yet quite frustrated enough to stick the flute into the fan blade).
The second issue is not understanding what to do to produce the second octave, other than to blow faster air. Oddly enough, fifth line F and G above the staff, as well as the odd A, will pop out once in a while when I want the lower octave, but refuse to appear on command. Here, I need the most elementary advice:
Aim higher, lower, the same, roll in, roll out, play dead, sit up, whatever. Anybody willing to offer a bit of advice?
Thomas

·
Registered
303 Posts
Make sure you are relaxing your throat. Sometimes when people firm up the lips there is a sympathetic action that constricts the throat. This can obstruct the airflow causing the kind of thing you describe. Throat, jaw and shoulders should be totally relaxed.

You're correct that you want faster air for each next octave. Question is how to get it. Smaller embouchure hole and pushing harder from deep in the diaphragm. Push the lips together but don't squeeze in from the corners. Aiming a bit higher helps too but it is only a slight change. A common tendency is to tighten up the throat and lips too much which restricts the sound. Don't roll the HJ in or out.