Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I am new to the sax world so please bear with me! I purchased a Jean Baptiste alto for my son second-hand. He’s 7 so I wasn’t looking to spend a lot. It seems the bell portion is twisted to the left in comparison to the body. When holding the sax straight, the bell portion is angled to the left almost like it’s turned at the seam. Is this an expensive fix?

I also have to have the neck fitted as the screws do not tighten and secure it in place. I’ve tried greasing them and still doesn’t work. I think the tenon needs to be expanded (look at me with the fancy sax lingo 😉)

Not sure what else they may find but I hate going into these situations clueless. Can the bell/body be realigned easily?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,315 Posts
It seems the bell portion is twisted to the left in comparison to the body. When holding the sax straight, the bell portion is angled to the left almost like it’s turned at the seam. Is this an expensive fix?

I also have to have the neck fitted as the screws do not tighten and secure it in place. I’ve tried greasing them and still doesn’t work. I think the tenon needs to be expanded.

I hate going into these situations clueless. Can the bell/body be realigned easily?
CMC79, welcome to SOTW.
Sadly a good buy may not always be the best deal. Yes all these issues can be repaired but at what expense? So.

Figuring out how to post some good detail pictures will help the members help you.

Meanwhile find another unit to compare to if possible. If it’s bent you’ll see it immediately and how much. For now look at the bell to body brace. Sometimes a slight dent on either body or bell or bent brace is a yes clue.