Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Hope everyone is well. I am very new to this forum, so please forgive the mistakes. Hopefully I am posting in the right thread. I've been playing the tenor sax for about 3 years now. I currently play a Yamaha YTS 62. I'm trying to get a bright buzzy sound like my mentor;s sound. It's very similar to Brecker, but with a key difference. The mids really come out. He plays a selmer SBA tenor. with a moddern Otto link mouthpiece with a step bafel. However, He has played my horn multiple times, and has made it sound almost exactly like his horn. I have been searching and searching for this sound, Trying multiple mouthpieces, and even made my own baffels to no avail. Do you guys think it might be the neck, Because I am thinking of trying the kb sax necks. What I love about his sound is that it's very rich. When he plays quiet it almost produces a sound similar to the vowel sound aw, but when he plays loud it has the signature brecker buzz. like the short A sound. Any advice would be much apriciated. Thanks. p.s. Here is a link to my mentor and I trading 4s. FOrgive my very bad playing. But you'll be able to see what I mean. I'll also send a link to him soloing so you will see what I mean. https://www.dropbox.com/s/tfe6gpluqppusql/trading 4s.wav?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5z1dn4i1wq40jti/Kanoa's sound.wav?dl=0

·
Forum Contributor 2016, Distinguished SOTW Member
12,786 Posts