Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know if this is an appropriate forum for my request as I'm not a musician, much less a sax player. What I am is a rather senior citizen who grew up in New York City listening to Alan Freeds nightly R&R show in the mid 50's - and wants to relive his past!!

For many months in about 1956/7 Alan Freed played a version of Night Train on his nightly WINS radio show. He'd often play it several times a night - almost as his theme song. It was a great, gutsy recording - and I can still hear it in mind some 50 years later!

I want a copy of it and have been searching the web for it for some time now. I've found/tried quite a few artists (Jimmy Forrest, King Curtis, Sil Austin, Louis Prima, Red Prysock, Ernie Freeman, Sam the Man Taylor, Ernie Field, Big Jay McNeely, and a few others) but none sound like the version I believe Freed played.

Does anyone come from the same era as me, and if so can you help?! I think a good possibility is that it was a recorded by Big Al Sears just for Alan Freed as I've read that he was employed by Freed for a while as leader of Freeds own band.

Looking foward to some advice.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,147 Posts
Guns and Roses.

Just kidding, (couldn't resist) good luck on your search. Have you tried youtube?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2008
946 Posts
There are 191 versions of Night Train on Rhapsody. James Brown? Sam Butera?

·
SOTW Interviews/Editor, Distinguished SOTW Member,
1,187 Posts
Earl Bostic had a version of "Night Train".

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
Neil Sharpe said:
Earl Bostic had a version of "Night Train".
That would be my vote.

BTW, please let us know if you find it, which version it is, OK?

(Ahh "Night Train". Fond memories of the first time I heard that song...peeking through the window at a local club's Stag Night show, at age 11. :twisted:

·