Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been playing on my 200xxx true tone alto for almost two years now, but I am still having issues with my hand placements. More specifically, my fingers tend to flatten out to play i.e. they lock in an extended position and only the knuckle closest to the palm bends. My sax teacher told me to practice a curved motion with my fingers as if I were playing whenever I can, but it seems whenever I get back into an intense lick my hands jam up again. I find this happens especially when using my palm keys (both left- and right-hand). Any advice from experienced true tone players would be greatly appreciated. I love the sound of the true tone, so I won't be switching any time soon, but the ergonomics can be quite frustrating. I'm planning on taking it to the shop soon, so please let me know of anything I can ask my tech about.

Side note: I have seen ads for palm key risers, but I have never heard of or seen anyone using them? Any thoughts on them?

Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
of course playing any horn is a matter of adapting , either adapt the playing or adapt the horn.

In the beginning of my playing I used palm raisers, they were cool (along with rover ligatures and metal mouthpiece), I bought some and I made some (cork) but in the end I learned to play te horn as far as possible the way it is.
I have had several TT and the best ones, for me but most people would pay mopre for them , are the more modern types with front quick F and halfmoon G#.

It has been a while but can't remember that it was a particularly challenging alto to play, in any case not more than any other instrument made between the '20 and the '30 (and even later until the more modern mechanics).

I think what you describe with fingers stretching is typical (I still do it I am more than aware of it) of a player not completely at ease with himself.