Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

First time poster, and happy to be a part of this community.

I've taken the plunge to decide to learn to play the saxophone, and I'd like some advice on renting a tenor.

I've contacted a few places in Toronto regarding renting a sax, and one place has given me the option of renting a new sax (50-something per month), "silver" used (30-something per month), and "bronze" used (20-something per month).

Obviously the used instruments are a great deal, especially since I'm just starting out (I've never even held a sax before!). My question is which rental should I go for? I have no idea which models are for rent, but for the sake of discussion, I'll assume they're all the same models, just with varying levels of use. Would it make any difference at this point if I go for a new one? Would the pads, keys, etc. on a used sax make a difference? I'm not really sure what I should be looking for. I'll also assume (although I should ask) that the used instruments have been throughly cleaned, and aren't layered with the spit of previous students.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
As long as the store has a good repair department, used should suit your needs perfectly. What shop were you talking to? I think the most important question you should be asking the other members is 'Which shop in Toronto should I go to?". You should rent from a reputable shop where they have a certain amount of expertise with woodwinds, otherwise you might end up with a brand new piece of junk. If you could get back to us with the names of some shops near you and the brands that they're renting that would be useful. (And the lower priced used one would be brass, not silver.)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2010
3,310 Posts
I see no reason to pay extra to rent a new instrument, as long as the used one is in good shape there wont be any problems.