Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm trying to go for a clear, pure tone on my Tenor sax and for some time have been quite disheartened with how I currently play. Generally my tone at present is quite breathy, airy and wavery. I'd be grateful if anyone can give me any advice on what is possibly wrong, and further to that how to produce a more 'pure' tone.

I've been playing Tenor for 5 years, if that helps anyone.

Saxophone: Trevor James Classic II
Mouthpiece: Selmer Soloist E
Reed: Vandoren Classic Blue Box 2.5 strength

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,431 Posts
Is air coming out from the sides of the mpc b/c you are not taking enough mpc in?

There are so many possible causes that a tutor or a friendly player could potentially be of help in a mere moment.

·
Registered
457 Posts
This may be a completely stupid question, but are you sure you're getting a good reed/mouthpiece seal (talking about the reed against the table, not your embouchure)?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,430 Posts
What you're doing is what we call a 'sub-tone' and is used all the time in jazz/other non-legit playing. Unfortunately you're trying to get a full tone so this indicates you're leaking air around the mouthpiece. You're going to need to improve your embouchure - you basically have no chops (wavery tone, etc.).

·
Registered
3,017 Posts