Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all you saxy people,

I am the grateful new owner of a TM Custom 500sl Tenor and I would like to share my perspective with you. I am extremely thankful that Randy Jones and his team at Tenor Madness have constructed such an amazing instrument. I am also very lucky to live an hour and fifteen minutes away from Tim Glesmann who I have been visiting for the last fifteen years. Some of this information isn’t pertinent, but it might help you understand where I’m coming from.

My first tenor was a Series III and I loved it. The horn could just whisper a low Bb and was amazing for classical, but for me, some character was missing when it came to jazz and I never felt comfortable with the altissimo color. I painfully sold it and picked up a 36k SBA, which has taught me more about the saxophone in the last three years than I have learned in the prior seventeen. The horn has a beautiful core to the sound, but like many 70 year old instruments, she has some quirks. I decided to start looking at new horns just out of curiosity and I was so enamored with the TM Custom that I have to pass along my SBA. I’ll give you my opinion of some horns for some perspective.

YTS-82ZIIUL with no high F# key: Not having played one before, I was fixated on giving the Custom Z a whirl. I liked the look and the sound people achieved on demonstrations but I immediately knew this horn was not worth giving up Lucille. The horn was great, but like my series III, something was missing. The core was golden, round, focused, and beautiful.