Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2015, SOTW Better late than neve
4,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been rehearsing for about two months now with an excellent young and talented pianist Mark Robinson on a duo act. We played our first gig last night at a graduation event. Not all went perfect. We still have work to do, but we had our moments. The audience gave us some nice compliments still and we got a chance at another gig for a birthday party. I've played countless Blues and Rock gigs over the years on guitar, keys and sax. But this was different. This time is the my first crack at a pure Jazz act just on tenor. Big shoes to fill :shock:

Just for reference, I took a video camera along and set it up on side of the stage. No big production. This will something I'll be laughing at a year from now :D

Your comments are welcome. Check it out :)

Song For My Father
http://youtube.com/watch?v=xMG9zpdTTqs

Summertime
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPo7i-_hc2E

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
tjontheroad said:
This will something I'll be laughing at a year from now :D
I had to tape over my first performance because I didn't want to be reminded of it and I didn't want anyone else to ever see it.

·
4,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Agent27 said:
I had to tape over my first performance because I didn't want to be reminded of it and I didn't want anyone else to ever see it.
I don't care much if others see it. There was about 60 people there anyway. Might as well let everyone in on my progress or lack of :D ;)

·
3,875 Posts
I'm sure you already know, but you really need to work on your time and your tone production/intonation/air support.

But kudos for putting yourself out there and taking chances.

·
4,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Agent27 said:
I'm sure you already know, but you really need to work on your time and your tone production/intonation/air support.