Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm talking about my embouchure. I'm a first-year college student and although music is not my major, I'm a pretty serious player. I did a couple searches and found some embouchure tips, but none of which seemed to help out much.

I used to be able to play gigs, where I was the only horn player, for a solid hour or two before my embouchure tires out. But now I can hardly play for 30 solid minutes. When I say tired, I mean my lips get tired, and it is really difficult to maintain my embouchure. I'm pretty certain I'm not pinching too tightly either, because lately I have been pretty conscious of it -- of keeping my lips relaxed. I don't think my embouchure has changed over time.

It's really frustrating. If it helps, I think this problem began after having spent a week in Orlando with no saxophone. At first I thought this is probably normal, but after over 3 months of consistent playing, I'm starting to think something is wrong, maybe with my embouchure. It's frustrating cause I love playing, and have a long Body and Soul feature with the jazz ensemble, but my lips will get tired halfway through.

ANY ideas?

(I play for an hour three days a week with the university jazz band, where my lips would get tired halfway through every time. On all the other days, I practice for as long as I can before they tire out, which is about 30 minutes. And I do play long tones, although some practice sessions I'd get lazy...)

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,927 Posts
Ask 'round the music department and find someone to give you a few lessons. Diagnosing an embouchure on the internet is worth exactly what you pay for it.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts