Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Of course I've heard the original, and my favorite recording is this one with the Brecker Bros. But I was wondering if there are any tips on how to make the solo more interesting. The changes are good but after awhile its the same "oh he plays in F-7 for a bit, then lands on Eb in the next chord, then hits the C# on the next chord" that kinda thing. I'm just a highschool student, so I don't have a pro's grasp on theory, but I did find out I could play the #11 in the C#7 chord (btw all these tones are concert, I play alto). Idk if adding that sharp 11 (and playing F real minor) is a tritone substitution or not. I honestly have no clue WHAT a tritone sub is, but I can't remember whether playing that IS a tritone sub. I guess I should probably go figure that out first?

Also, any other killer solos on this song would be awesome! I have been trying to find some good recordings, like for instance Mike Brecker plays some out stuff on the recording I linked, thats a cool lick!

Josh

·
Registered
525 Posts
Develop the intensity curve. Slow rhythmic density, like half and quarter notes, gets more intense as you increase the rhythmic density to eighths and sixteenths. Extreme high and low ranges increases intensity, so start in the middle of the horn. When you start feeling like F7 is a little blah, start in F, then play F# instead, and resolve back to F nicely. Play figures up and down in minor 3rds with disregard whether they fit the chords or not -- after the 3rd time through the form, the audience already has those well established in their ears, so contrast with them -- always resolving them. Pick a 3-4 note motif and base all your lines on developing that. Stuff like that should gradually build intensity; keep building til the last 2-4 bars and then quickly draw the intensity back down. It should generate audience interest, like you're taking them on a ride -- your ride.

·