Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks

I've been playing a council-owned yani 902 for the last four years, and the time is drawing close when I'll have to give the thing back. Can I pick your brains as to thoughts on other bari's? I wouldn't mind looking at some slightly older models rather than getting a standard off-the-shelf job, but don't know much about what's available or guide prices. Also, although I could probably live without it, a low a would be preferred as, along with the big band stuff, it would get a fair bit of classical and saxchoir music thrown at it as well. I'm hoping to get hold of a Conn Crossbar (to b flat..) for a trial fairly soon, so I'll see how that feels. Any thoughts/things to try and have a go on?

I know this is fairly similar to the 'what is your favourite bari' thread, but if you could tailor it slightly to stuff I'm likely to be able to find in the UK and not have to spend two years' student loan on, that'd be great!

Cheers!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,766 Posts
I would say that the Conn is the way to go, if you fancy a big rich tone. All of the serious baritone men blew Conns. Harry Carney, Gerry Mulligan, Danny Bank, Joe Temperley (still playing a Conn) Charlie Fowlkes...

Unless you're playing funk or Broadway (in your case, West-end) shows, you can live without a low "A".

The baritone should sound like a woodwind instrument, not a bass kazoo or chain-saw.

·
1,404 Posts
I recently played three baris, a Big B, a Weltklang (low A), and my Dolnet (low A). The Big B had a beautiful big tone but it was fairly resistant and the key layout was not good. The Weltklang--with rolled tone holes--had pretty good response, tone, and keywork. The owner of the Big B said he thought the Weltklang was a little better horn.