Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I welcome any opinions. I have been playing a Jupiter 889 tenor for the last several years, but am excited about the prospect of getting a new horn. I am comfortable spending up to around $3500. The sound I want to get is on the very "warm" side - Houston Person, Scott Hamilton, Ben Webster are great examples of my ideal sound. Some horns I am considering are the Yamaha 62III, a P. Mauriat, and a Yanigasawa. From what I've read, I would also consider a used Yamaha 875EX, but these seem hard to find. Another option is to wait until I've saved up more money and get a new 875EX. I prefer a new horn or one that is in superb condition.
Do any particular horns stand out in your mind? Thanks. (By the way, on the Jupiter, my mouthpiece is a Selmer Soloist, which I am very happy with.).

·
Registered
1,735 Posts
I played an unlacquered P. Mauriat at Saxquest that was really nice. I went in to look at vintage mp's and a relac MVI, and they really wanted me to try it. Glad I did, although I just purchased an early Berg. If I were going to buy a new horn, that would be on the very short list.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. There are several P. Mauriat models: 66,76R, 76RX, 97T. Do you happen to know which model you tried?

·
Registered
725 Posts
I The sound I want to get is on the very "warm" side - Houston Person, Scott Hamilton, Ben Webster are great examples of my ideal sound.