Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. DavyRay sent me this way. Told me this was a great bunch to get advice from.

A little bit about me...

I am a theology grad student who played trumpet back in junior high and high school. I was pretty good. I was second trumpet in high school and our band participated in state Marching Band Competitions. I never really liked performing in front of groups. Music was always something very personal and internal for me that I liked doing for me. That and in band I never got to play baroque music that I really loved. I also never really felt like the trumpet was the instrument for me. When I started my music career in sixth grade my mother, knowing my love for old jazz records, went out and bought a used trumpet from a friend that she got for a song. It was cheap and so I was given the trumpet to play.

Before going to college I tapered off playing the trumpet altogether. I gained new interests. Met a woman who I eventually married. And my life was just getting started. My mom eventually informed me right after I got married that she had sold my trumpet to a friend of her's who's son was starting band.

Now to the present. I'm twenty-six years old. I have been talking for months about starting to play a new instrument. I have a little disposable income so my wife has been encouraging me to take up something. I'm not looking to be a virtuoso or the next Rampal or Dulfer. I simply wish to do this as a hobby and share this hobby with other like minded people. I've been looking at saxophones and flutes online. While I love the sax I've been gravitating towards the flute. I live in an apartment with very thin walls and I think I might have better access to more music.

That said....