Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I've been doing some thinking, and i want to start the oboe. There are some problems though. I currently play the clarinet, and double with the E-flat clarinet and bass clarinet. I have been playing clarinet for about 5 years, and i just started the Eb clarinet earlier in 2010. I've been listening to a lot of music, and I really like the sound and tone of the oboe, and i think it would be a blast to play. However, I have an all-county audition for clarinet and E-flat clarinet in april, and my dad cautions me from messing up my chops by playing too many instruments. I really wanna keep studying clarinet, and hopefully get into a professional chamber orchestra or symphony. Also, i've been looking all day, and I can't find a good student oboe that's under $800. Why are these things so expensive?? Student clarinets go for about $200! What's your opinion on this matter? Can you help me find a good cheap oboe (used is okay)? Thanks in advance!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,163 Posts
I was in your shoes once, played a few horns and thought oboe was cool. I ended up buying a used one at a church sale for $100.

Thing is, oboe is a completely different instrument from clarinet. You may think it could be a cinch to pick up because it looks similar, but looks are where any similarities begin and end. It's a whole different way of thinking. At the very least, once you found an oboe you'd need to take lessons from a professional oboe player to attain any kind of ability. That sound and tone you mention takes years of concentrated study to develop. You would also need to learn about oboe reeds, which are another entire discipline unto themselves.