Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been loving on my 1973 MKVI alto for a couple of years now. I recently bought a 1938 Selmer BA as a backup. I notice it is lighter in weight and though my hands probably aren't as sensitive as a micrometer, the bell wall feels thinner. The BA turns out to feel and sound more resonant. They are both a great pleasure to play. In fact the BA with MKVI neck is the best combination of parts. Anyone else experience a preference for a thinner walled sax (if that is actually the cause of the increased resonance)? Thinking too much...

·
Registered
136 Posts
I was actually thinking the same thing when I got my Buescher TH&C a while back.

Before then I was using a yamaha yas-23 and when I picked up the Buescher for the first time I noticed a resounding difference in weight. I was surprised to find that the Yamaha weighed more than the Buescher! I was expecting a pro model vintage horn to weigh more mostly due to the construction differences and maybe a heavier and better quality brass but it seems I was incorrect. It also, like you noticed, seemed to be thinner and more sensitive.

This wasn't what I expected but I guess in hindsight it makes sense that a lighter thinner sax would vibrate more than heavier thicker one.

This also drew a connection to guitars. My Fender Strat (alder) is about 7.5 pounds whereas my buddies' Squire (ash) is about 10.5. Mine is noticeably more resonant and better sounding and feeling while played unplugged.

So I think based upon what I've seen that it is an increase in resonance with the lighter instruments.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,204 Posts
Some measurements would help. The thickness of the metal should not make a difference acoustically, as it's the air column that makes the sound, rather than the container (horn). The difference in bore taper certainly would.

·
Registered
59 Posts