Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been playing the same mouthpiece for about 15 years since college. It is a Peter Ponzol ML, which at the time they described as a Modern Otto Link. From my little bit of experience with other mouthpieces it is very linkish... I have always loved this piece and honestly still like it, but lately have been wanting something a little different. I am looking for something that can be very linkish for big band and sectional work, but can get more aggressive when really pushed. I do have an old Dukoff that I use when I want to get really aggressive, but what I want a mouthpiece that can kind of be the best of both worlds. From looking at descriptions and watching videos the Theo Wanne Mantra kinda fits this bill, but it is a much less reviewed mouthpiece than many of their others. Does anyone have any experience with this piece that they can share? Or does anyone else have any suggestions of other mouthpieces that might fit this bill? I do plan on ordering and play testing a few different pieces but any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,002 Posts
I had a Mantra, it was an 8 or 7** from memory.
Fantastic mouthpiece and I would absolutely describe it as what you’re looking for.
The Mouthpiece Cafe House blend is another similar mouthpiece. I think Kritavi has one for sale.
The D’addario Select Jazz mouthpiece is another good versatile option too but they get a little tight feeling down low for me, so I stick with my Klum Florida models.
If I could get a Mantra in a .100 opening I’d love it.
The Wanne Gaia 3 covers a lot of bases too from what I’ve heard

·
Registered
884 Posts
First, you should be careful with the hype. At least half of the metal tenor mouthpieces manufactured today are advertised either as some sort of "Link on steroids" or "modernized Link".