Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an electrical engineer who has specialized in audio signal processing for more than 30 years, as well as an avid sax player. One thing that strikes me as I attempt to upgrade my mouthpiece is how the field resorts to very vague and inprecise terms like "dark", "open", "edgy", etc. In a lot of ways it is similar to how people describe wine.
Of course it is not possible to be completely analytic about the sound of a mouthpiece, but it strikes me that manufacturers could offer up a standard set of measurements including (warning; techie nerd alert!);

1) The spectrum of a few selected steady notes at few different volume levels (low C, mid-C, mid-D, high-D, for example). This would show the harmonic series exactly. You might want to pick 3 representitive horns to show the interaction (Mark 6, Yamaha ...???).

2) The "attack" characteristic. This could be done using a so-called "energy-time-curve" that shows how quickly different frequencies appear after a note is tongued.

3) Some method of measuring the amount of air pressure required to achieve a certain sound-pressure level (again, with a few standardized horns).

There are many other factors that are necessarily subjective, for example how the shape of the mouthpiece fits in your mouth, but it would be great to at least start off with a set of standard measurments, so you could predict based on your current mouthpiece how a new mouthpiece would sound. This is especially important in an era where most of us try mouthpieces by mail-order; I'm getting tired of running to the post-office!
Maybe when I semi-retire in 10 years or so I'll take this on as a project. Naturally, I will have to ask all of you to send me your vintage moutpieces so they can be characterized. I"ll send them right back .... promise:)

Bob

·
Forum Contributor 2014, Distinguished SOTW Member
2,087 Posts