Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have been playing the sax for almost 7 years now and, ever since I learned why a good mouthpiece was important, there hasn't been a day where I haven't felt hindered in some way by my mouthpiece choice. My current struggle has been finding a classical mouthpiece for tenor. The Vandoren Jumbo Java T55 that I've been playing on is great and works perfectly for jazz, but even that one has its flaws (notes lower than low C are a serious struggle to get out). Yes I'm aware that there are probably hundreds of other posts about that same topic but I seem to struggle to find many suggestions for classical. An obvious choice would be an S-80 C*, which I had heard many good things about so I eventually went to try one at a local music store. No dice. Playing it (on my Rico 2.5 reeds which I love) was more than difficult; there were times when it was even hard to get a middle C out of the horn. Before you ask, no, the reed was not aligned wrong. I checked it multiple times because I was obviously suspicious of the same thing. So clearly, that mouthpiece was not for me.

However, this is where things get somewhat confusing for me, as I don't know if the problem was the C* tip opening or the mouthpiece itself. I'm inclined to believe the latter, as I tried the piece with different strengths of reed (2.0 and 3.0, because I was so confused why I was having so much trouble with a mouthpiece that seemed generally well-liked), but no strength seemed to help get everything. I could play fairly well on the 2's but I couldn't stand listening to my tone, and on the 3's the piece was only harder to play, and I could tell most of my air was not being used. Overall, the experience left me with more questions than answers.