Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been on the search for many years for the perfect mouthpiece and reed combination. Just when I think I have found it, something will happen which will cause my sound to change, like replacing a reed (WITH THE SAME STRENGTH AND BRAND, GO FIG!!) and I am right back on my search. I have accumulated a box full of reed brands and strengths as well as about 5-7 mouthpieces. The mouthpiece that I played on for the longest period of time was a Ponzol Custom on my Alto Sax. When I was doing a lot of funk and contemporary jazz / gospel stuff, the mouthpiece worked great. However, it was when I started playing more straight ahead that the mouthpiece just didn't produce the sound that I wanted. It was too bright and thin. I tried every reed made on that mouth piece but to no avail. I even tried changing my embouchure but that is dangerous if you are not careful because it could mess up your intonation. Over the last 10 years after spending hundreds of dollars on mouthpieces and reeds, I decided to purchase Robert Scarff's book "Saxophone Mouthpiece Selection" published by Jamey Aebersold. In the book he breaks down the anatomy of the mouthpiece and talks about how each part affects the sound. He has tons of comparison charts and technical data as well. Now I don't recommend anyone else doing this and Robert Scarff doesn't either, but if you feel compelled and also feel that you have nothing else to lose, you can take matters into your own hands. That's what I did.