Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wes Montgomery. Great place to start is Full House with Johnny Griffin. I'm a guitarist, and I don't even listen to any other guitarists anymore. Why would I, my fave players are manily brass and piano? I think that sax players get bored listening to a guitarist's usual limitations and lack of dynamic expression. Not Wes, listening to him is as exciting and surprising as it gets, and he's the supreme master at keeping it going, the ultimate melodist with endless supply of the hippest lines. Rollins has said so, Coltrane wanted him in his band, Cannonball flipped when he first heard him and ran to a phone to demand that Orin Keepnews sign the guy, which he did. You ever feel like you're gonna burst from excitement listening to your fave players?

Any other Wes lovers out there?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,323 Posts
Wes was a lovely player. Others worthy of consideration include Bill Frisell, Jim Hall, Ed Bickert, John Abercrombie, Russell Malone, Jimmy Raney, Peter Bernstein, Jack Wilkins and Joe Cohn (son of Al). No limitations or lack of expression here...

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
These guys don't suck one bit. Lage Lund, Kurt Rosenwinkel

·
Registered
609 Posts
I to am a big fan of Wes... but there is no way he is the only guitarist one should listen to! Goodness I can't even beilieve the thought of that! What about Django, Stevie RV, Hendrix, BB King, Lang, Yngwie (like his playing not attitude), R Rhoads, Joe Pass.... My head is already dizzy thinking of all the great guitarists!