Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,640 Posts
It is worth buying. But if you are an absolute beginner then it moves very swiftly into more advanced areas.
I agree with pete. I use it a lot. It is a great book to have even if you are not 100 percent ready for it.

·
Banned
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys, it sounds as if it's just the ticket for my ongoing needs. I'm sans teacher at the moment, and without someone to discuss theory matters with. I wouldn't call myself an absolute beginner where theory is concerned, more a post beginner/intermediate level I'd think. But I'll find out soon enough I guess.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,888 Posts
Thanks guys, it sounds as if it's just the ticket for my ongoing needs. I'm sans teacher at the moment, and without someone to discuss theory matters with. I wouldn't call myself an absolute beginner where theory is concerned, more a post beginner/intermediate level I'd think. But I'll find out soon enough I guess.
My only caveat then would be to not get bogged down in some of it. It works in parallel to the practical stuff of transcribing, learning tunes, getting to grips with licks, the blues and melodic impro. Just "playing", either with playalongs or preferably with live people at jams etc.

Blues especially can be what is lacking from players who study theory at the expense of practical advancement of their playing.

·
Banned
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I would also recommend Improvising Jazz by Jerry Coker. A totally different approach in many ways and more beginner friendly.
Excellent. I'll get this as well. At the moment I'm in a ravenous state where learning is concerned

·
Banned
2,991 Posts
Discussion Starter #8