Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I've been playing off and on for about 20 years and lately in the search of something better/ different I've been waffling between a Meyer and a Runyon
Model 22. I was wondering what is the difference between these two mouthpieces?
I seem to more or less get my 'sound' out of either one. The Model 22 has a higher arching Beak and the internal shape seems to be more squeezed like a Brillhart.
I notice the sound seems to come out of a different place in my hearing vs. The Meyer as well. Are these two pieces drastically different?

Here are some you tube samples:
Model 22

Meyer Custom

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I forgot to mention the Meyer is opened to .80, the Runyon is .77 ish.
I primarily play in an acoustic blues group and community big band these days.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Um...anyone?...anyone...Bueller?...

Specifically I'm just wondering the difference in the the chamber shapes and baffle height with regards to response.

·
Registered
9,143 Posts
Your embouchure and how you play will be a bigger factor determining your sound than the choice between these two mouthpieces. There are good and bad examples of each mouthpiece. So if you just pick one of each to compare, it is a coin flip as to which one will have better response. That is mostly a facing quality issue.

The Meyer is a more popular mouthpiece recommendation. This is mostly based on a vast number of great past artists playing on them. But the current production Meyers vary in quality and even the vintage ones for sale vary.

The Runyon is a tad brighter as you can hear in the video. If you think you naturally sound too dark, try the Runyon 22. If you think you sound too bright, try the Meyer.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·