Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To clear things up, I'm not what you'd call a beginner; I've been playing for about seven years and headed into my senior year of high school. Over time, I've noticed that my embouchure isn't exactly ideal for saxophone, and learned to play saxophone in public schools. After playing for shorts amounts of time, I get bite marks on my bottom lip (especially when using my soprano), and as I've read and seen, that isn't supposed to be the case. Are there any pointers anyone could suggest for me to find a more ideal alto embouchure? I know it also depends on the sound I'm looking for, but I think finding something that's more comfortable is more important.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Bite marks??

You're talking about marks from the edges of the reed, no?

Do you play every day? If you're not playing often or long enough to form little 'callouses' on your lip, that seems normal.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Bite marks??

You're talking about marks from the edges of the reed, no?

Do you play every day? If you're not playing often or long enough to form little 'callouses' on your lip, that seems normal.
No, bite marks from my lower teeth to my lower lip and I play for about 7 hours everyday.

·
SOTW Columnist and Forum Contributor 2015-2016
3,832 Posts
Get a teacher. Find the best professional in your area and pay him good money to teach you.

Nothing online will equal a teacher properly examining your playing technique.

That being said, if you have teeth marks it means you're biting. Loosen up. You want to put as little pressure on the reed as possible. The more you bite, the more you restrict the reed from vibrating, which stifles your sound.

- Saxaholic

·
Registered
294 Posts