Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
904 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Played a wedding gig on Sat night and the trumpet player, who is very good, was texting during the rests. Then I look over and he's taping one of my solos.

In the five years I've been a school teacher and not a musicain has the world gone insane?

PS My last ever day as a classroom teacher is May 27th. I tried but if I have to give up my horn I'll die. I've been so drepressed this year I've lost over twenty pounds and I had to put safety pins in my suit to make the gig.

Thanks for the support from you folks over the years, letting me vent and keeping me honest. I mean that. There are many special people here.

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Texting or checking your phone on the bandstand (or in rehearsal for that matter) is taboo, as far as I am concerned. Unless, of course, there is some sort of emergency.

That trumpet player deserved a slap on the back of the head!

Hang in there! There are always positives to focus on! :)

·
Premium Member
26,254 Posts
I'd be more pissed at someone taping my solos.

Texting or talking on the phone is unprofessional behavior.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,875 Posts
Completely unprofessional behavior. Even if you don't sound like it, it makes you LOOK like a bunch of amateurs.

·
Registered
887 Posts
A couple years ago I was in a band with a bass player who did this. But he didn't stop playing to do it, just kept his left hand working. And he was sexting. And showing the rest of the band the conversation in the middle of the set. Classy.

·
Registered
904 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Miles said Trane would pick his nose when he was on junk

·
Banned
28,511 Posts
But he didn't stop playing to do it, just kept his left hand working. And he was sexting.
Sexting? You mean he was playing pocket pool on the stand?:shock:

·
Premium Member
26,254 Posts