Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Forum Contributor 2015, SOTW Better late than neve
4,272 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About a year or two ago, I went on exploration of saxophones. While I dabbled with sopranos, altos, a bari and even a sopranino, I think the tenor trip is the most interesting story. I had been playing a Yamaha YTS 62 II for 4 years and really liked that horn. I never felt it was lacking much that didn't come from me, the player, from the start. While I still had that, I bought a silver Series III from a SOTWber in terrific shape. Big wow moment happened when I first played the III. I started thinking that I really need to check out as many horns as I can to know for myself what, if anything, I was missing.

So off I went and I traded my Yamaha for a Buffet Dynaction. I really did love the lush dark sound, but the keywork was better suited for bigger hands. So I bought a Super Dynaction and then sold the Dynaction. The SDA fit my hands much better. Then, I got great deal on a near new JK SX90R black nickel. That sax had a very ballzy tone, but the keywork felt awkward to me. Just could get use to it. So ebay and bye by with it. Then, a SML rev D practically fell in my lap for just $500. It needed some TLC so I had it repadded and was very happy with result.

Jump ahead... I needed some cash so I had to choose between the SDA and the SML. I could of been happy keeping either one, but since someone expressed interest in the SDA first, off it went to Georgia.

So now I'm back to just two tenors and to be honest, the Series III is still king. While I do like my SML, I’m now thinking of trading back to a modern horn like my old Yamaha for the modern feel. I miss the light keywork of that horn.

Since this time has passed my tone is sooooo muuuch better than it was. Practice does mean something. I guess the lesson I've learned is to stop thinking and start playing whatever horn is in my hand. A good bit of advise for all.

·