Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I did a search first but did not give much, so I ask the opinon on here. What diffrences are there between the Yamaha 3C and the 4C mouthpieces for the Tenor Saxophone? I have a Yamaha 4C (Tenor) at the moment, and I am a beginner player. I have a Vento 900 Tenor Saxophone I use it on.
Usually I use RICO 1.5 or 2 reeds for the moment.

I also have an Alto Saxophone and have both of the Yamaha mouthpieces, a Yamaha 3C and 4C and for the most part I think, as a beginner, the Yamaha 3C alto is easer MP to play.

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2017
735 Posts
I am am an adult beginner. From what I read on this forum and what my teacher told me, a 4C is the most frequently recommended mouthpiece for a beginner. The 4C is 0.067 inches (I believe. Check with the tenor mouthpiece facing charts on the internet). This is the gap between the tip of the mouthpiece and the tip of the reed. The 3C is smaller than the 4C. I started with the 4C and a 2.0 strength Rico Royal. Do not keep changing mouthpieces and reed strengths. Choose one mpc and one reed strength (4C and 2 reed, for example) and play that for a couple of months at least.

Even though the model name/numbers on the alto mpc are the same, the actual tip size on the alto mouthpiece is smaller for the same mouthpiece model. For example the tip size for a 4C alto mpc will be smaller than the tip size for a tenor 4C. I suggest that, at first, you learn to play only one (either tenor or alto) saxophone rather than switching frequently from one to the other.

If you do not have one, find a teacher and take lessons.

http://www.jodyjazz.com/facings.tenorsax.html

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,286 Posts