Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I got this tenor for a few boxes and I'd like to know more about it.

Here are the inscriptions on :
Weltklang Solist
Markneukirchen
klingenthal
Serial no : 65670
Made in GDR
Fabriqué en RDA ( in french )

The sax plays very well although I have some problem to make sound the low tones ( but I'm a beginner ). It is in great shape, but dirty. It is gold lackered with silver keys.

Can anyone tell me more about this horn ?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Its student model (if this means anything), made by B&S - DDR period. You may ask B&S for Year of production, but they have very bad serial number track record (from personal experience). I have their Blue Label (not official name) sax, from DDR period and I had also opportunity to try few Weltklangs.
You have history of B&S on their web site. From my experience (I am still a begginer player, playing for two years only, but can tell difference between two saxes if I can play them one by one. I do have solid musical mileage from playing guitar and bass for 20 years) these saxes sound quite nice but do not have action as good as modern horns, and are very easy to blow. Your teacher should tell if low notes problem is leaking sax or You. If You do not have teacher - find one, for few lessons at least. Advice I have got from good people at this forum and it was very good one.

I do not think You are going to resell it easy, but on the other hand You may not wish to.

Best regards

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
2,547 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dear Rotkvica and Stephen,