Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I've been at the axe for about 8 months now. I'm just getting into altissimo. I have a cheap Vito (YAS-23) alto. I printed a bunch of fingering charts, and went through them to find what works for my sax, and now I can pretty reliably blow altissimo up to C.

However, I also have a very nice Yanagisawa tenor, and I'm having the hardest time with altissimo on it. It seems like almost every fingering just blows a C# (and a D with embouchure adjustment).

Anyone have any tips on this? Does your technique change much from alto to tenor altissimo? Anyone else have this problem?

I'll add that I have a Jody Jazz alto mouthpiece and a generic metal tenor mouthpiece (also a hard rubber), all #7. I use medium-soft (2.5) Fibracell reeds. If any of that matters.

·
Registered
94 Posts
My advice would be to not even think of worrying about altissimo for at least another year or two.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My girlfriend's dad is a pro, and he thinks I'm at about a 2-year level now (I practice 3-5 hours a day). It's primarily because I practice so much that I want to learn altissimo; it really breaks up the monotony of practicing. I don't need to know every altissimo note, but it would be very nice to know a few. If you really think I shouldn't do this now, any tips for making practice more fun would be appreciated!

·
SOTW Administrator
26,204 Posts
Fingerings on tenor and alto are not identical.

I would practice overtones on both, to get the voicing, then worry about fingerings.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,715 Posts
With more experience you will be adept on both alto and tenor, but it should not be a priority at your level. Be aware also that the fingering in the altissimo range is not necessarily the same for both sizes.