Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm a beginner, looking for a tenor sax that will last me. I have a budget of about $700-$800AUD. I really like that big, old sound of vintage horns, so if possible, I'd like to buy one of those.
I hsve done a fair bit of reading, so I'm not gonna ask what a good sax is for $xx .:mrgreen:
I do have a few questions though.
First off, will a vintage horn suit a beginner? Or am I a bit out of my depth in wanting to buy one?
Also, I was wondering if there was anyone in Perth here that could direct me to a music shop that sells second hand saxophones, and maybe recommend a good teacher? (I'm pretty far NOR, but willing to travel)

Lastly, I came across a few tenors on ebay and various other sites, and was looking for some input, if you could!

JTS-687

A Martin

JTS-889SG

Jupiter 500 Series?

Sorry for the ridiculously long post!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
19,000 Posts
LONG post ? Broooother....you are about to see a LONG post !!!

Hi...well, first off....some of those are overseas sellers, so are you sure they will ship to AU ? If so, get a quote.

OK, so the Martin is a nice horn ....but you want to clarify with the seller that it indeed will play up and down, all notes speaking, when your receive it. He has what may be deemed some "wiggle words" in there at the end of the description...or maybe not; might just be speaking honestly. You just wanna clarify. It's a decent price for a late '30's Handcraft playing up and down...I just sold one to an SOTW'er for almost the identical price.

Hands-down, it is the BEST horn of the bunch.

Now...the two Juptiters near you...they aren't bad newish horns. 2 of my techs say that Jupiter, as long as they aren't from over 10 years ago, are pretty solid. Better than Cannonballs...better than Antiguas...better than most.