Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am a inspired musician. I really like both instruments, but I favor the alto more and i would like to play it in my school's jazz band, instead of playing the tenor . However I am the only tenor player, and there is already a 1st and 2nd alto, but i feel better connected with the alto. I am hesitant about talking to my band director about switching to the alto because i asked to play the tenor (after recieving a tenor and wanting to try it out) and also there are no other tenors who could possiblely take my place. Should i just deal with it and play the tenor for my band or get switched?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,640 Posts
Hello I am a inspired musician. I really like both instruments, but I favor the alto more and i would like to play it in my school's jazz band, instead of playing the tenor . However I am the only tenor player, and there is already a 1st and 2nd alto, but i feel better connected with the alto. I am hesitant about talking to my band director about switching to the alto because i asked to play the tenor (after recieving a tenor and wanting to try it out) and also there are no other tenors who could possiblely take my place. Should i just deal with it and play the tenor for my band or get switched?
Yes just deal, You will learn a lot playing tenor. If you play both tenor playing will make your alto playing better.

·
2,833 Posts
yepp i would,nt worry about that really, you could develope your tenor playing a lot more and use it elsewhere!..also i reckon its quite cool to be the only tenor!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cool i'll follow the advice. Currently i have a Big B tenor that needs to be repaired, i was planning on saving money (from job) up on getting a Professional Yamaha Custom alto, but should i juss get the Big B repaired and focus on the Tenor?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
19,002 Posts