Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a beginner (maybe nearing beginner/intermediate) tenor sax player. I'm interested in upgrading my mouthpiece. I currently play a Brilhart Ebolin 4.

I recently ordered two SYOS mouthpieces. A 6 and a 6*.
The 6* is a Jure Pukl model that states a very small chamber and a roll over baffle.
The 6 is a Scott Paddock model that states small chamber and step baffle.

I love the way these moutbpieces allow me to get a more full and loud sound. I don't seem to have much issue playing the bigger tip opening. I do have alot more squeaks and things with the new mouthpieces. But I imagine those would work out with time.

However, one big issue I'm having is with playing in tune. Mainly the higher register with these two SYOS pieces. Everything plays a bit flat, but most noticeably, high D, E, and F play almost a half step flat. And there's nothing I can do to adjust it.

I'm not the most in tune player, I know. But with my brilhart I am never anywhere near that out of tune and I can usually work with the note to get it within a few cents.

Another thing I'd like to mention is that I tried a selmer C* a while back. With this mouthpiece everything was extremely flat. Everything. I couldn't do anything to bring it up.

I realize there are many different factors at play here and my skills are quite likely to blame, but again, I can get my brilhart decently in tune. One thing I've noticed about my two SYOS and the selmer C* is how much longer they are than my brilhart. I'm wondering if my Chicago Style Jazz BnS, long mouthpieces, and I just aren't that compatible at this time.

I'm not in an area where there are many places to try mouthpieces. I'd like to head to sax alley soon and try some there. But might not be able to make it for a while.

My budget is around 200-250. I know that's not alot.

I'm curious about some of your opinions and suggestions

Thanks!