Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been playing the tenor for a few years. Last year I changed from a 4c to a Vandoren T5 V25, not knowing a alot about mouthpieces. I was just wondering if this mouthpiece is suitable for jazz, or should I consider changing my mouthpiece?

·
Registered
434 Posts
Assuming Vandoren v5 T25.....

You have more of a classical mouthpiece. However, that does not men you can’t play jazz with it. If you are just learning jazz, I wouldn’t worry about it right now. Your ability to perforem proper Jazz articulation will far over-shadow the classical nature of the tone quality on that mouthpiece. At some point, when your articulation is developed fully for jazz (if you aren’t already there), you will may decide that your sound doesn’t have enough edge or bite to it. At that point, you might want to try something that is intended for Jazz.

......all that said, if you like the sound of your current Vandoren mouthpiece, there is absolutely no reason to change, even if this mpc isn’t officially jazzy. You wouldn’t be the first person to play Jazz on a classical mouthpiece.

·
Registered
11 Posts
The v5 T25 is a small mouthpiece. Most "Jazz" mouthpieces have bigger openings which will require more air, control, and most likely softer reeds. I think it would make sense to look into jazzier mouthpieces, but it's going to take some work to actually be able to play them. Ideally you could borrow some to play around with. Make sure you have softer reeds available!

·
Registered
569 Posts
T25 is close to a Otto link #5 head to your neighborhood music store and play test a few rubber pieces and see what you think.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
5,306 Posts
The V16 Vandoren Tenor has more of the Jazz Vibe

·
Registered
1,229 Posts