Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all

i have a conn chuberry alto and looking to peak in to tenor land.
what would you suggest to get from similarly vintage instruments? (that does not require a bank heist)

im still a beginner, based in EU :)

·
Registered
3,045 Posts
Stick with what you're used to. Get a Conn New Wonder series II tenor (late 1920s), or one from the Transitional period — say c.1931-35 vintage, or an early Conn 10M Ladyface, c.1936-37. I know they can be a bit expensive in the EU — but you can get a good serviced, relacquered one for around €2000 from Australia. Here are two my good friend Philip at secondhandsaxes.com.au has on his website at present. The descriptions are straight from the website and the prices are in Australian dollars. I've put the Euro equivalent after the Australian prices.

1927 CONN NEW WONDER-II TENOR Serial#205,xxx...CHU-BERRY...VERY GOOD CONDITION...FULLY REPADDED...EXCELLENT PLAYER... $ 2650 (about €1630).
1931 CONN TRANSITIONAL TENOR Serial#245,xxx.VERY GOOD CONDITION...FULLY REPADDED...EXCELLENT PLAYER... $ 3450 (about €2125).

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,000 Posts
hi all

i have a conn chuberry alto and looking to peak in to tenor land.
what would you suggest to get from similarly vintage instruments? (that does not require a bank heist)

im still a beginner, based in EU :)
a) what is your definition of 'does not require a bank heist' ?

b) what is your definition of 'similarly vintage instruments' ?

Your OP is open to a lot of interpretation.

Personally, I am gonna give an opposite suggestion of Mr. Mike, although I understand the spirit of that suggestion.

If you already have a Chu Alto, which is a very good representative of a split-bellkey era horn....why not spread your wings a bit and get something perhaps of a later era ?